Skip to main content


Virtual workshop dedicated to Professor Robert Schaback, and in particular, in honour of his 75th birthday


University of Verona at Alba di Canazei

General info

The conference will be held online, hosted on Zoom. Please download Zoom for your operating system and test it in order to participate the venue.

Date: September 6-10, 2021.

DWCAA21 aims to provide a forum for researchers to present and discuss ideas, theories, and applications of constructive approximation.

We propose some main invited lectures, several sessions of contributed talks and a poster session.

About the previous editions of the conferences, see also DWCAA06, DWCAA09, DWCAA12, DWCAA16.


Participants can submit a full length paper for publication on Dolomites Research Notes on Approximation (DRNA).

Special Issue dedicated to Robert Schaback on the occasion of his 75th birthday
Guest Editors: Francesco Marchetti, Emma Perracchione, Gabriele Santin, Alvise Sommariva.

  1. The deadline for paper submission is February 28, 2022.
  2. Authors are invited to submit their contributions by sending a .pdf to one of the following Guest Editors:

    » Francesco Marchetti:

    » Emma Perracchione:

    » Gabriele Santin:

  3. Papers accepted for publication must be prepared using the DRNA Template. The .tex files and all the artworks (figures, movies ...) will then be sent to one of the guest-editors.

Last updates

(December 07, 2021)

  • Participants can submit a full length paper for publication on Dolomites Research Notes on Approximation (DRNA).
    The deadline for paper submission is postponed to February 28, 2022 (see section "Proceedings" in the menu on the left).
  • Poster session will take place on September 8, 2021, at 3PM (Italian time zone)
  • Late registrations cannot be verified, since we have a receipt from the bank after some days. Consequently, in view of the weekend, those participants that will register after September 3, 2021, will also receive the site password after the beginning of the conference and may not participate to some of the first talks.
  • All the conference events will be hosted on Zoom. The Zoom links for each session will be provided in the Zoom links page (see also the sidebar), whose user/password has been sent to those registered participants who paid the workshop fee (see email with object: On DWCAA21 Zoom links).
  • The Workshop will start on Monday 6, 2021, at 8.45 AM (Italian time zone) and it is mandatory to be registered, having paid the registration fee, in order to access by username/password to the Zoom links.
  • We have created some free access rooms for free discussions. Couldn't make a question for time reasons, or just looking forward to discuss with a colleague? Contact the colleague(s) in private and agree on a room and timing to meet! Links in the Zoom links section.

Invited speakers


Approximation theory in imaging science

Organizers: W. Erb (Padua) and C. Campi (Genoa)

» Program and abstracts: PDF (update: August 17, 2021)

Meshless methods

Organizers: G. Santin (Trento) and E. Perracchione (Genoa)

» Program and abstracts: PDF (update: August 11, 2021)

Multiresolution techniques

Organizers: L. Romani (Bologna) and A. Viscardi (Bologna)

» Program and abstracts: PDF (update: July 30, 2021)

Multivariate polynomial approximation

Organizer: L. Białas-Cież (Krakow)

» Program and abstracts: PDF (update: September 3, 2021)

Numerical integration, integral equations and transforms

Organizers: I. Notarangelo (Turin) and L. Fermo (Cagliari)

» Program and abstracts: PDF (update: September 6, 2021)

Poster Session

Organizers: A. De Rossi (Turin) and F. Di Tommaso (Cosenza)

» Participants: HTML (update: August 25, 2021)

» Poster session will take place on September 8, 2021, at 3PM (Italian time zone).

Poster Session info

A poster session will take place (date to be announced).

If You are interested, please send title and abstract to Alessandra De Rossi ( or to Filomena Di Tommaso (


The registration is open: see side menu.

Organizing Committee

M. Caliari (Verona), R. Cavoretto (Turin), S. De Marchi (Padua), F. Marchetti (Padua), E. Perracchione (Genoa), D. Poggiali (Padua), M. Rossini (Milan-Bicocca), G. Santin (Trento), A. Sommariva (Padua).

Co-organized by the Padova-Verona CAA research group.

Scientific Committee

L. Bialas-Ciez (Krakow), L. Bos (Verona), C. Campi (Genoa), S. Cuomo (Napoli), F. Dell'Accio (Rende), S. De Marchi (Padua), A. De Rossi (Turin), W. Erb (Padua), L. Fermo (Cagliari), E. Francomano (Palermo), N. Levenberg (Indiana), I. Notarangelo (Turin), D. Occorsio (Potenza), E. Perracchione (Genoa), L. Romani (Bologna), M. Rossini (Milan-Bicocca), M.G. Russo (Potenza), G. Santin (Trento), A. Sommariva (Padua), M. Vianello (Padua), A. Viscardi (Bologna).


For any further information, email to

Stefano De Marchi:


Last update: December 20, 2021.